Apollo Theater, 1713-1715 Hewitt Avenue (1915)
This relatively tall, one-story brick building opened as the Hayes Theater on December 20, 1915. Two years later it was transformed into the Apollo Theater. It was a major downtown movie theater for a decade, closing June 19, 1927. In 1932 it was the Central Cigar Store. Later it became West Dependable Grocery Store.
To the west across the alley at 1709 Hewitt Avenue take note of the Schmalz Block, built in 1896. See the Kodak ghost sign on the brick wall in the alley? As the popular Sport Center this interior was unchanged for years displaying one of the best neon signs in Everett.