Marion Building, 1401 Hewitt Avenue (1894)
WA State Register of Historic Places
The Northeast corner of Hewitt and Rucker is anchored by the magnificent Marion Building. This was AF Heide’s first commission after the dissolution of his partnership with Charles Hove. Designed for investor Thornton Goldsby in Italianate style it was completed in 1894. Billy Emerson’s lavishly appointed Tontine Saloon filled the west side of the ground floor after its move from Riverside, and was known as Everett’s most elegant taproom of its time.
Most Everett citizens recall The Lloyd Company for hardware which utilized the entire ground floor from 1929 til 1979, while the Marion Hotel occupied the second floor for many years. Measuring 48 by 40 feet, an addition was added to the north side of the building in the 1920s, next to the historic Bargreen bldg.