Killien House, 5214 South 2nd Ave (ca. 1906)
Located in Everett’s Lowell nieghborhood, this house was built on property owned by Everett Pulp and Paper. The typical bungalow style has floor to ceiling pillars at the entrance with interior bay window facing the Lowell Church. Frank Killien started work at the paper mill as a young boy, eventually working his way up to become Assistant Superintendent. His wife Cora was know as an excellent seamstress who died in 1931 from cancer after submitting to early kemo-therapy treatments in California.
In 1923 the successful Killien moved his family to a new house at 4918 South 3rd Avenue which also stands today.