Van Valey House, 2130 Colby Ave (1914)
The house’s original construction cost was $5,000 in 1914. The wood for the house was cut on site for this American Foursquare. It features quarter-sawn paneling that is irreplaceable today.
Special attributes include bay windows imported from France and leaded glass windows from Belgium that includes 236 panes of beveled glass. Coffered ceilings are featured in the dining room and the history exhibit room. The initial “V” for Van Valey can be found on the chimney exterior. The bronze sculpture on the newell post was recast from the damaged original. A wonderful carriage house stands in back near the alley.
Previous owners Ed and Betty Morrow donated the building to the City of Everett. The historic house can be rented for events from the Everett Parks Department.