Everett Downtown Storage, 3001 Rucker Avenue (1919)
Completed in 1919 as a car dealership, Mack Buick Company was a part of Everett’s “Auto Row” that once lined Rucker Avenue. The building continued to serve as an auto dealership under changing ownership for sales of Buick, Plymouth and DeSoto until 1954. By 1959, it was leased to JC Penneys as a warehouse until 1986. Local designer Bob Haggard restored the 2-story structure for present-day use.
The facade of the concrete building is faced with stucco and brick. It is supported with 12x12 interior posts spaced 20 feet apart. The showroom floor was designed with a 16 foot ceiling and the second floor has 11-14 foot ceilings.