Austin House, 2201 Rucker Avenue (1897)
The 4300 square foot Austin House is an excellent example of American Foursquare design with Colonial Revival details. It has a classic portico with a balustrade balcony and a stunning leaded glass entry. A sunroom is attached to the southern side of the residence.
Albert D. Austin, a noted Snohomish attorney originally from Missouri, was described in his 1911 Herald obituary as “one of the wealthiest men” and “one of the best historians and story tellers in the county”. After her parents deaths in 1911 and 1915, daughter Nina and her husband Lyle Carpenter, a lumber broker, lived here until the middle 1930s when banker Guy Buck and family arrived, residing here until approximately 1948. Next were Laurence and Minda Niemeyer, longtime owners of Everett’s popular Niemeyer’s Pharmacy. Recent resident Loretta Bolduan was a founding member of Historic Everett.
Guests will soon be able to stay at the Austin House B and B starting in 2011.