Agnew House, 2301 Rucker Avenue (1899)
Hardware proprietor Andrew J. Agnew built the home and lived there for 25 years. In 1905, Mr. Agnew opened the Agnew Hardware Company on the railroad viaduct at 2210-2212 Hewitt Avenue, a local landmark that still stands. Descendants of A. J. Agnew continued to reside in the family home until 1960.
The solid geometry of this building, composed of rectangles and triangles suggests the Northwest Colonial Revival style. The house features a grand entry with classic columns, topped by a stately pediment porch covering. The wide projecting boxed eaves on each story add to the stark geometric elegance. The Agnew House, built as a single-family residence in 1899, was divided into seven rental apartments in the 1960s.
The third story is reached by a separate “servant’s” stairway. Many original features have been retained in the individual apartments, including moldings and built-in cabinets, sinks and bathtubs.