Port Gardner Bldg, 2802 Wetmore Avenue (1929)
The six story structure was built for Marion J. Rumbaugh and his sons using modern steel and concrete construction. The grand opening for the department store was held April 19, 1929. (The site had previously been occupied by Trinity Episcopal Church.) Rumbaugh, a successful wheat rancher, owned or built five hotels and fifteen stores in Eastern Washington.
“A Greater Store for a Greater Everett” proclaimed the Herald on April 18, 1929, in an 8 page supplement announcing Rumbaugh’s opening. It was designed by architect C.A. Merriam who also designed the Granada Theater and the new Everett Theater. The 2nd Floor featured a beauty salon using the ”latest technologies and processes” and the 3rd Floor featured 200 seat auditorium with a stage 10 x 25 feet.
Sold to The Bon Marche in 1949 which it remained into the 1990s, relocating to Everett Mall by 1993. Occupied by Gold’s Gym in 1994 and Cogswell College in 1998. Trinity Lutheran College is current owner.