Brownell Building, 1701-1703 Hewitt Avenue (1899)
The second floor of this two-story corner building has been covered with stucco. It was constructed for Mr. Francis H. Brownell from Rhode Island, the first lawyer in Everett. His business largely consisted of commercial and corporate law. The building was later occupied by Brodeck Clothing Company and Fisher’s Shoe Store. Pacific Hardware Company was in the building from 1928 to 1930, followed by Helen Davis’ Shop of women’s furnishings, H and L Sports Store, Gwynne’s Family Shoe Store, and Wold Men’s Shop. In 2010 it became an artists’ gallery.